Fiber One Brownie Review {giveaway closed}

Not long ago I was given the opportunity to try Fiber One’s new 90 calorie brownies. I figured, okay… free – why not right? The worst that could happen is I don’t like it. Well, okay I suppose there could be worse but I’d like to assume worse wouldn’t actually happen… even while eating at a restaurant. I want to trust and hope for the best, especially when chocolate is involved.

Due to weather, holidays and general forgetfulness I didn’t get around to even trying the brownies right away. I think I just heard many *gasps*. She didn’t rip that package open and try one immediately?! It’s a brownie! It’s chocolate!! I’m sorry. No, I didn’t immediately break open the boxes and dive in. If it were candy, that’d be another story. I like chocolate, I do. And again this might be a shocker, but I have to be in the mood for it. Some things I could eat any time of day any day of the week but chocolate there needs to be the right mood and time for.

Do you want the good or the bad first? Usually people say bad so that’s what I’m going with…

It all started out fine and dandy… free goodies, free brownies – yay. Not so fast. See the top of the nutrition panel? Serving size 1 brownie, 6 servings per container.

I got ripped off!! Only five packages. Thankfully this only happened with the chocolate fudge box. The chocolate peanut butter box had six packages – relief… but I’d have much rathered the chocolate fudge box be complete.

Now the brownie… it’s not even the full size of the package! I crabbed to hubs about this. I felt ripped off twice, deceived even. He claimed it had to be to protect the brownie – an air filled pouch for the brownie to rest in. No, I’m sorry. I just don’t buy that. There is no reason to do that especially when it’s already housed in an outside box. Okay… I really am only griping because I wanted a bigger brownie. I could have eaten the whole box. One of these little suckers isn’t sufficient for me. I know it’s about self control and eating healthy or healthier… it’s still a brownie.

Ready for the good news?

Getting over the fact that I got ripped off and the brownie size didn’t meet my expectations… it was down right delicious. Light and flavorful. A perfect blend of moist, fudgy and cakey. I know, sounds weird right? But seriously it’s just the right middle. The outside isn’t flakey like homemade brownies. It doesn’t fall apart in your hand. It doesn’t leave your fingers greasy. It’s a perfect little brownie snack on the go. Leave it in your desk or bag for a quick treat when you’re craving something or need a little nibble to get you through. You might will want more than one, but if you can resist you’ll be fine.

I couldn’t help myself though. You see, after eating one for the purpose of the review and post I still needed pictures and a brownie alone on a plate just wasn’t enough for me. It was sad and lonely. See? Sad… lonely. Not exciting. Let’s try this…

Getting better.

Almost there.

There we are! A touch of sprinkles and it’s perfect.

Kiddo didn’t complain one bit. She enjoyed the brownie… and of course the extras.

Would you like to win a package for yourself to hoard away and devour at your choosing? Or to share. Your choice. Yes? I know you do. It’s brownies!! Free brownies even.

Mandatory entry: Where will you enjoy your Fiber One brownies? At work, in the car, on a trip, maybe in the closet hiding from your family?

Giveaway will be open through Thursday July 21. One entry per person. A valid email address must be included with your entry. One reader will win one prize pack including everything pictured above. Check back on Friday to see if you won! The winner has 48 hours to respond or another winner will be chosen.

*Disclaimer: I was provided with the free brownie gift pack from General Mills through My Blog Spark. All opinions and statements are my own.

***Giveaway is now closed***


Stay Connected


77 Responses to “Fiber One Brownie Review {giveaway closed}”

  1. #
    51
    Nicole — July 19, 2011 at 8:11 am

    Hola! I feel your pain w the shenanigans that are played regarding packaging….and yet, i fall for it every time

    I would probably save these for when i get home from work – i am always starving and eat dinner waaaay too early which causes me to have a second dinner hehe these would prob help

    ngallo58 at gmail dot com

  2. #
    52
    Erin @ Dinners, Dishes and Desserts — July 19, 2011 at 10:10 am

    I just bought a box of these this week, and tried the first one last night. It was so yummy! My store didn’t have the chocolate peanut butter one though :( Where would I enjoy it? On the couch with my feet up after my kid is asleep!

  3. #
    53
    Cindy B. — July 19, 2011 at 10:49 am

    I would enjoy my Fiber One brownies at home, when everybody gone!….maybe I’ll share one or two, maybe?

  4. #
    54
    Meghan H — July 19, 2011 at 10:58 am

    I would eat them in a boat.
    And I would eat them with a goat…
    And I will eat them in the rain.
    And in the dark. And on a train.
    And in a car. And in a tree.
    They are so good so good you see!

    So I will eat them in a box.
    And I will eat them with a fox.
    And I will eat them in a house.
    And I will eat them with a mouse.
    And I will eat them here and there.
    Say! I will eat them ANYWHERE!

    I do so love brownies that don’t dirty a pan
    Thank you, Thank you Rachel-I-am.

  5. #
    55
    Fransiska — July 19, 2011 at 11:05 am

    I’ve walked by these many times in the grocery store and have resisted buying them each time.
    I would eat these during my 2 o’clock research slump, when results are not going the way I’d like them to and I need some motivation to finish out the day.

  6. #
    56
    Cheryl F. — July 19, 2011 at 11:08 am

    I would enjoy Fiber One brownies at home :) They’d make an easy dessert or snack. *Thanks* for the giveaway!

  7. #
    57
    natalie (the sweets life) — July 19, 2011 at 12:04 pm

    i wouldn’t mind having a stash of these at work for an afternoon snack :)

  8. #
    58
    Beka — July 19, 2011 at 1:11 pm

    I will enjoy my brownies in the backyard, lying in the sun and enjoying the summer! Or maybe as a quick snack at the beach! They look so delicious. And the fact that they’re low in calories makes it even better! Though I would probably end up eating the whole box!!

  9. #
    59
    Emily — July 19, 2011 at 1:56 pm

    I would enjoy them when I get home from work at night (while watching Sex and the City)!

  10. #
    60
    Lenore — July 19, 2011 at 4:35 pm

    I’d keep one of these in my work bag as a treat for a stressful day.

    I read your post yesterday, and then saw these on the shelf at Target and thought of you! :)

  11. #
    61
    Cassie W — July 19, 2011 at 6:37 pm

    I decided to look up reviews right after I posted on Facebook that “I <3 FiberOne brownies!!!" I found this review and was excited!

  12. #
    62
    Rachel - A Southern Fairytale — July 20, 2011 at 10:55 am

    I have to admit, I’ve been completely skeptical about all things Fiber One until my kids begged for the Fiber One Oat and Chocolate bars and HOLY MOSES I’m addicted. They’re SO yummy!

    No fair getting ripped off! :-( :-)

    I would love to win this (a) chocolate (for which I, also must be in the mood) (b) JUMP ROPES and (c) YUM

    I would eat them as a treat at my desk after completing my goals for the day! Incentive FTW!

  13. #
    63
    Johannah B — July 20, 2011 at 11:42 am

    I think as a snack in front of the TV! :0)

  14. #
    64
    Beth — July 20, 2011 at 2:50 pm

    I have to admit I am almost always in the mood for chocolate : ) I would totally eat these after a long day at work or at almost any other time of the day…..

  15. #
    65
    Amy's Cooking Adventures — July 20, 2011 at 9:39 pm

    I will most definitely be the one eating brownies on the sly–I sense these will be a new part of my secret sweet stash!

  16. #
    66
    Tom — July 21, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    Brownies? Where would I enjoy them?! Probably if I won on the doorstep after having ripped open the packaging!

  17. #
    67
    Addy — July 21, 2011 at 4:39 pm

    Hope I’m not too late to enter this. I love eating these at school or at the tennis courts for a quick tasty sugar fix

  18. #
    68
    Muffin Tin — July 21, 2011 at 5:27 pm

    I would keep one in my purse to enjoy while running errands!

  19. #
    69
    Brandon — July 21, 2011 at 7:35 pm

    I would enjoy them at home while I recover from surgery & pack them in my lunch when I get back to work. They look great & I have to get plenty of fiber per the doc.

  20. #
    70
    clara — July 21, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    i will enjoy it in the living room with everyone since it is chocolate and sharing (calories) is caring, right? :)

  21. #
    71
    nicole — July 21, 2011 at 9:07 pm

    I’d give them to BF. he would love them.

  22. #
    72
    Simply Life — July 24, 2011 at 6:18 pm

    Sad I missed the deadline -these look great!

  23. #
    73
    alex — July 25, 2011 at 11:13 am

    at home!

  24. #
    74
    Lauren — July 26, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    Probably at work or on the go.

  25. #
    75
    HEATHER — July 27, 2011 at 10:27 pm

    Anywhere Anytime mmm mmm goood

  26. #
    76
    Mary Rek — January 14, 2012 at 10:43 pm

    I’d snack on this at night.

  27. #
    77
    Sheana — October 9, 2012 at 2:29 am

    I just recently tried a Fiber One Brownie and I must admit I kinda liked it. I realize that its not like eating a Duncan Hines or Dunkin’ Donot brownie but it will do the treat. It was the first fiber bar that I actually enjoyed, it did not taste like cardboard. Plus its healtier and it’s only 90 calories. Works for me!!

Leave a Comment





Current ye@r *