Fiber One Brownie Review {giveaway closed}

Not long ago I was given the opportunity to try Fiber One’s new 90 calorie brownies. I figured, okay… free – why not right? The worst that could happen is I don’t like it. Well, okay I suppose there could be worse but I’d like to assume worse wouldn’t actually happen… even while eating at a restaurant. I want to trust and hope for the best, especially when chocolate is involved.

Due to weather, holidays and general forgetfulness I didn’t get around to even trying the brownies right away. I think I just heard many *gasps*. She didn’t rip that package open and try one immediately?! It’s a brownie! It’s chocolate!! I’m sorry. No, I didn’t immediately break open the boxes and dive in. If it were candy, that’d be another story. I like chocolate, I do. And again this might be a shocker, but I have to be in the mood for it. Some things I could eat any time of day any day of the week but chocolate there needs to be the right mood and time for.

Do you want the good or the bad first? Usually people say bad so that’s what I’m going with…

It all started out fine and dandy… free goodies, free brownies – yay. Not so fast. See the top of the nutrition panel? Serving size 1 brownie, 6 servings per container.

I got ripped off!! Only five packages. Thankfully this only happened with the chocolate fudge box. The chocolate peanut butter box had six packages – relief… but I’d have much rathered the chocolate fudge box be complete.

Now the brownie… it’s not even the full size of the package! I crabbed to hubs about this. I felt ripped off twice, deceived even. He claimed it had to be to protect the brownie – an air filled pouch for the brownie to rest in. No, I’m sorry. I just don’t buy that. There is no reason to do that especially when it’s already housed in an outside box. Okay… I really am only griping because I wanted a bigger brownie. I could have eaten the whole box. One of these little suckers isn’t sufficient for me. I know it’s about self control and eating healthy or healthier… it’s still a brownie.

Ready for the good news?

Getting over the fact that I got ripped off and the brownie size didn’t meet my expectations… it was down right delicious. Light and flavorful. A perfect blend of moist, fudgy and cakey. I know, sounds weird right? But seriously it’s just the right middle. The outside isn’t flakey like homemade brownies. It doesn’t fall apart in your hand. It doesn’t leave your fingers greasy. It’s a perfect little brownie snack on the go. Leave it in your desk or bag for a quick treat when you’re craving something or need a little nibble to get you through. You might will want more than one, but if you can resist you’ll be fine.

I couldn’t help myself though. You see, after eating one for the purpose of the review and post I still needed pictures and a brownie alone on a plate just wasn’t enough for me. It was sad and lonely. See? Sad… lonely. Not exciting. Let’s try this…

Getting better.

Almost there.

There we are! A touch of sprinkles and it’s perfect.

Kiddo didn’t complain one bit. She enjoyed the brownie… and of course the extras.

Would you like to win a package for yourself to hoard away and devour at your choosing? Or to share. Your choice. Yes? I know you do. It’s brownies!! Free brownies even.

Mandatory entry: Where will you enjoy your Fiber One brownies? At work, in the car, on a trip, maybe in the closet hiding from your family?

Giveaway will be open through Thursday July 21. One entry per person. A valid email address must be included with your entry. One reader will win one prize pack including everything pictured above. Check back on Friday to see if you won! The winner has 48 hours to respond or another winner will be chosen.

*Disclaimer: I was provided with the free brownie gift pack from General Mills through My Blog Spark. All opinions and statements are my own.

***Giveaway is now closed***

Stay Connected


77 Responses to “Fiber One Brownie Review {giveaway closed}”

  1. #
    1
    Catie — July 18, 2011 at 9:29 am

    These would be great to keep in my office for afternoon snacks!

  2. #
    2
    Patsy — July 18, 2011 at 9:33 am

    I will eat them at work as a snack or at home or in the car. Although you complained about the small brownie in a big bag, the packaging is perfect for your purse because you don’t end up with brownie bits in your bag. And…they are only 2 Weight Watchers points! Yay!!

  3. #
    3
    The Chocolate Priestess — July 18, 2011 at 10:11 am

    Now that’s a good review of a product — pros and cons.

    I’d eat mine in front of the computer and write a full sensory review like we do here on The Chocolate Cult if I won them. Then I’d share the other four with other Acolytes and get their feedback.

  4. #
    4
    Laura @ Sprint 2 the Table — July 18, 2011 at 10:12 am

    I would keep these in my desk at work for my mid-afternoon chocolate fix!

    …and I’d keep one or two at home close to the vanilla ice cream and rainbow sprinkles. :)

  5. #
    5
    Abraham — July 18, 2011 at 10:46 am

    Must.. have.. FiberOne 90 Cal Brownies!!!!!!!!!!

  6. #
    6
    Kate@Diethood — July 18, 2011 at 10:52 am

    I love all the Fiber One products – I eat one mid morning just about every day. :) I haven’t tried the brownies, though…I’ll change that!

    PS I hate how they rip you off on all things packaged…especially potato chips…they are the worst!

  7. #
    7
    Kristina @ spabettie — July 18, 2011 at 11:11 am

    glad to know these are tasty – the peanut butter sound GREAT.

    I would definitely have to eat one with all the extras as you did – the ice cream, sprinkles, fudge… I’d keep the rest in my gym bag for a quick fuel before workout!!

  8. #
    8
    Ashley H. — July 18, 2011 at 11:14 am

    I’d eat this as a snack at work.

  9. #
    9
    Michelle — July 18, 2011 at 11:38 am

    I would definitely enjoy this snack at work!

  10. #
    10
    Daryl Callahan — July 18, 2011 at 12:00 pm

    I love these and buy them all the time. My arae hasn’t had the peanut butter yet. I would loev to win this!

  11. #
    11
    Pretend Chef — July 18, 2011 at 1:17 pm

    You had me at brownies and 90 calories let alone. Sold. If I won this giveaway I’d most likely share with my guy since he too loves brownies. Might be hard to part with them though. I’d pack them in his lunches for work. Yummy!

  12. #
    12
    Katrina @ In Katrina's Kitchen — July 18, 2011 at 1:23 pm

    Mmm – loving the additions! I enjoy brownies anywhere but I would probably have to eat mine in secret if I want one say, well before breakfast. I’m with you on the chocolate thing. I am more of a candy or a vanilla girl. Or peanut butter.

  13. #
    13
    tj — July 18, 2011 at 2:29 pm

    …Home, as a snack after lunch. :o)

    …I would love some Fiber One 180 Brownies! I know, I know, but I would always have to have two…so just make it 180 calories and we’ll all be happy! *giggle* ;o)

    …I eat their cereal every morning too, keeps me on schedule. TMI? Oops! :o)

    …Thank you for the giveaway and blessings too!

  14. #
    14
    Karin — July 18, 2011 at 2:35 pm

    I will enjoy it at home–watching TV in the sun room. Probably with a cup of coffee!

    You made it look really good with that ice cream on it. Maybe I’ll have to do that too!

  15. #
    15
    Valerie — July 18, 2011 at 2:56 pm

    Num! These do look delicious!

  16. #
    16
    Jessica — July 18, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    I would enjoy the brownies at my desk at work! I have a snack drawer and they would make a great addition to the other fiber one products I have stashed away. Yummy!!

  17. #
    17
    Melinda — July 18, 2011 at 3:22 pm

    Ohhh these would be so perfect to have at work! I love fiber one!

  18. #
    18
    Lauren at Keep It Sweet — July 18, 2011 at 3:25 pm

    I’d love these for a snack at work. The picture of your daughter is too cute!

  19. #
    19
    Bonnie Tanner — July 18, 2011 at 3:28 pm

    I was wondering if these were good. I’d eat them at home and share them with my hubs because I have no self-control :0)

  20. #
    20
    brandie — July 18, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    i could enjoy those anywhere :)

  21. #
    21
    Adrianne — July 18, 2011 at 3:37 pm

    I would totally bring these camping with my boyfriend and I next weekend! hey, the bag and water bottle would work great for that too! ;p

  22. #
    22
    Carolyn — July 18, 2011 at 3:39 pm

    Whoa, dude. Who would dare rip of a pregnant woman with one brownie AND make them small? Shame on Fiber One! Still, if they are that good, sounds like they are still worth it.
    Where will I enjoy mine? Um, how ’bout on the car-ride to the gym so I can work of the blood sugar rise I would likely get from them ;)

  23. #
    23
    Jordan @ food, sweat, and beers — July 18, 2011 at 3:56 pm

    I’m all about the fiber one bars, and love to have them around 3 pm for snacktime at work!!

  24. #
    24
    Chelsea F — July 18, 2011 at 4:34 pm

    I would definitely enjoy mine…anywhere :) Probably during class as a pick-me-up!

  25. #
    25
    Sonia — July 18, 2011 at 4:40 pm

    I have six kids, so definitely in the closet! ;)

  26. #
    26
    Gayle — July 18, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    LOVE FiberOne! I’d hide them from my coworkers at the office and enjoy as I snack my way through yet another meeting!

  27. #
    27
    Katie Wenaas — July 18, 2011 at 4:48 pm

    I would enjoy these at work. It looks so good.

  28. #
    28
    Jacqui — July 18, 2011 at 5:14 pm

    These would be perfect to keep in my desk at work!

  29. #
    29
    Year on the Grill — July 18, 2011 at 5:32 pm

    Good luck with your contest

  30. #
    30
    Sanah — July 18, 2011 at 5:49 pm

    I will eat them in the park as a delicious after run motivation treat while training for a half marathon! ;)

  31. #
    31
    Ashley — July 18, 2011 at 6:48 pm

    I would enjoy these hiding in the closet from my kids. If I feel extra nice I will share some with hubs since he’s the chocoholic of the family.

  32. #
    32
    Maggie @ A Bitchin' Kitchen — July 18, 2011 at 6:50 pm

    I would enjoy these at home! I love a little something sweet while watching tv at night.

  33. #
    33
    Serena — July 18, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    I would eat these for a quick snack on the go, and I’m sure it would fill me up because of all that fiber :)
    And chocolate. Mmmm!

  34. #
    34
    Jonna — July 18, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    I’d enjoy mine after the kids were in bed…have them alllll for myself :-)

  35. #
    35
    Claire — July 18, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    I got a pack of these at Costco and love them! I keep a few in my desk at work, and pull one out when I realize too late that the lunch I brought isn’t quite big enough to keep me tided over until my afternoon snack!

    They really are light and delicious, and I love that they give me a little fiber boost, too.

  36. #
    36
    Rachel L-E — July 18, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    I’d eat them while I’m sitting out by my apartment complex’s pool reading. Oh, decadence…

  37. #
    37
    Shannon — July 18, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    I’d silently try to unwrap it in the depths of the library one late night of studying… a brownie like that? I’d be eating it to take a few minutes to escape into paradise.

  38. #
    38
    Ann — July 18, 2011 at 9:15 pm

    I’m glad you liked the brownies. If I had one right now…I’d eat it right where I am! At my keyboard reading blogs!

  39. #
    39
    Anu — July 18, 2011 at 9:23 pm

    while studying hard at the library! :)

  40. #
    40
    Deneen — July 18, 2011 at 9:35 pm

    I would definitely pack them for our upcoming road trip to Boston. My 8 year old is definitely a chocoholic and anything that will add extra fiber to my boys (husband included) diet is great!

  41. #
    41
    sheryll — July 18, 2011 at 10:40 pm

    I’d love to try one. To eat anywhen I’m craving something chocolate and dense! (This can occur anywhere at all, so I had to answer with “anywhen”.) Brownies are my favorite dessert, and to think a somewhat healthy one could exist!!

  42. #
    42
    Kat @ Cupcake Kat — July 18, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    I like how you eat these brownies. They look so good. I would enjoy them outside with some ice cream

  43. #
    43
    Megan — July 18, 2011 at 10:48 pm

    I would keep these around as snacks in the apartment. A good go-to when I’m craving chocolate!

  44. #
    44
    Stephanie — July 18, 2011 at 10:50 pm

    I think I’d enjoy mine in the middle of the day when it’s that time between lunch and dinner and I’m craving something sweet. A little portion controlled package like this would be perfect to stop me from going overboard!

  45. #
    45
    Klee — July 18, 2011 at 10:58 pm

    I would definitely enjoy those as a little pick-me-up between meetings at work!

  46. #
    46
    Jill H. — July 18, 2011 at 11:33 pm

    I’d love these for the car, to help with the afternoon sweets cravings….and keep me on track with Weight Watchers!

  47. #
    47
    Deanna — July 19, 2011 at 12:49 am

    I would enjoy them at work and on my couch.

  48. #
    48
    KarenNM — July 19, 2011 at 1:28 am

    I tried the chocolate fudge today and liked them, though like you I was surprised that they were so small. I would love these for my small after-dinner treats, so I will probably eat them on my couch!

  49. #
    49
    kayla — July 19, 2011 at 1:38 am

    i’d enjoy my brownie at home after dinner…a la mode! :)

  50. #
    50
    caroline — July 19, 2011 at 2:06 am

    im so glad you reviewed this! ive considered getting these from the grocery store but figured they would be a poor man’s version of brownies- i will have to pick them up next time! these would make a perfect snack or dessert! :)

Leave a Comment